Grandma
My Grandmother Helen, was always there to listen and give advice. She was very loving and candid. Her plight in life at 5’4” tall was to advocate for children and to ensure that education was accessible to everyone. Soul food Sunday’s were always at my grandmother’s house. Every aunt, uncle and cousin were in attendance at the big pink house. She impacted my life by establishing the unique concept that no matter how young or old a person was they should always be respected. Her desires for me were happiness, love and a bright future.

Mommy
My Mother Gwen, was always very opinionated. Raising 9 daughters, she was not only a disciplinarian, she was a protector. She encouraged me to try my best at all times and to never give up on myself. Her aspirations for me were that I live my life in a positive manner and respect not only myself but others too. According to my Mother, “having an education was the key to unlock any locked door.” Some of my fondest childhood memories were centered on my mother’s baking, there was always a special aroma coming from the kitchen and our friends would sit on the porch waiting for the warm treats.

47664_155966827785030_1174228_n

Portia was my best friend growing up. She was a very good listener and her personality was very energetic, she was always ready to climb trees, run and ride bikes. She was a very caring, supportive and trusting friend. What she wanted for me when we were younger was for me to stand up for myself and not be so trusting of everyone. What I gained from our friendship was strength to stand alone and the desire to be adventurous.

Connie
Connie is one of my oldest siblings. As a little girl I looked up to her because, she was very affectionate and attentive to my needs, she was nurturing, witty and very outgoing. What she wanted for me was a future of happiness and security. Connie inspired me to read, she was always reading and for my 10th birthday she bought me my very own book: Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren. The bond that my sister and I establish as children is still very strong today, she still listens when I need her and she still provides sound advice; our relationship is a lifelong friendship. The values that she instilled in me as a child have assisted me throughout my life in many ways.

119

My Aunt Jean “Koolaide” is loving, caring, nurturing, trustworthy and always honest. She would take me for long rides in the summer and we would go to the park, the zoo and out for ice cream. Whenever we went to Belle Isle in Detroit, MI, she would pay $0.25 and we ride the giant slide. Riding that slide helped me overcome my fear of heights. Koolaide has an infectious smile and loves to entertain others. In life, she was an example of the perfect humanitarian in my eyes because she was always helping someone. Her hopes for me was that I was successful no matter what I decided to do in life as long as that success did not cause me to be unhappy. Koolaide’s motto “leave all negative energy at the door and never let it cross her threshold.” She taught me that life no matter how complicated did not have to be miserable.

giant slide